Balance & Whimsy
Joyful Affirmations with Emily Nielsen
Crisp Cotton or Soft Flannel?
0:00
-5:11

Crisp Cotton or Soft Flannel?

Nice vs. Kind: What's the difference?

This is an encore post of one of my most popular from last year. Are there other topics you’d like to read or listen more about? Let me know!

Leave a comment

"Isn't that nice." "Be nice to your sister!" "Nicely put!"

There's nothing wrong with "Nice." But check out how different the above statements feel from these ones:

"That was so kind of you." "I appreciate your kindness." "A random act of kindness."

Do you feel it?

I think, at the very least, niceness, or "being polite" is a beneficial way to approach life, like 89% of the time (I have nothing against well-placed anger). But NICENESS, when we simmer it down to its bones, is quite surface and often for the benefit of others thinking we are good. KINDNESS, on the other hand, equally cares for your well-being, and my own.

Showing KINDNESS is the extra. Kindness is the soothing touch. Kindness is the noticing, and the being present. 

Nice is fine, and Kind is different than nice. Kind is the empathy. Kind is the genuine. Kind comes from selflessness AND self-awareness.

Here are some analogies I've come up with about NICE vs. KIND:

NICE = starched white cotton sheets
KIND = soft flannel sheets with a weighted comforter and slippers by the bed

NICE = offering up your seat on the bus
KIND = sitting next to someone who looks lonely

NICE = "Let me know if you need anything!"
KIND = "I know it’s hard right now, so I'm showing up on your doorstep with no expectations, to just offer my presence."

Is there another situation you could add to the list?

Who has shown you kindness recently? Have you shown it to yourself?


A Joyful Affirmation for Choosing Kindness

Today I claim my fancy speak. 

Today I'm dropping "I can," "I will," "I want to," "I should" ... and donning a big hat with a wide brim and a feathered flower.  I'm standing tall. I'm smoothing my skirt. Today, I say

"I shall."

I shall be kind to others.
I shall be kind to myself.
I shall see the lightness in the day's situations.
I shall be patient.
I shall decide to shine.
I shall choose love.


Thank you for reading Balance & Whimsy. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share


Read Balance & Whimsy in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

0 Comments
Balance & Whimsy
Joyful Affirmations with Emily Nielsen
Mindful moments of lighthearted meditations and affirmations to peacefully set the tone for your jubilant life. All in about 5 minutes!
New episodes every Monday {or so}.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Emily
Recent Episodes
6:02
  
4:41
  
9:01
  
8:15