Balance & Whimsy
Joyful Affirmations with Emily Nielsen
Sorry, No.
5
0:00
-8:15

Sorry, No.

Thank you, thank you. 🙏
5

One steadfast rule I try to impart to my clients (and often have to remind myself!) is to only apologize if you’ve hurt someone.

We can walk through our days apologizing, dropping “sorry” as thoughtlessly as breathing. Someone bumps into me? I say sorry! What’s up with that!?

Kindness does not have to be equated with penitence. You do not need to say sorry. Unless you hurt someone.

So, what can we use instead of "Sorry?"

"Thank you."

Thank you for waiting. Thank you for understanding. Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for listening.


Never say never....

and never say "always."

Grace is being as gentle with yourself as you are bold in the world. Balance is part of grace.

We can grow in grace when we learn to give ourselves permission to say No... to things that don't fit our schedule, style, or desires.

What's the balance of saying no? ....

Not hesitating to be the one to ask!

When we can accept that saying No is an act of self-respect, it will be easier for us to be the one to make the ask.

One of the greatest lessons I have given myself is the permission to reach out when I could really use some help!

We are so willing to give it; it's a powerful act to ask. And every time I have reached out, my community has not disappointed. {And my gratitude surges!}

What is harder for you.... saying No (to respect your own boundaries); or asking for help?

Leave a comment


Time for Grace

Savasana, as they say, is the easiest pose to learn, but the hardest pose to master. The point of this restful, restorative pose is not to fall asleep - nor is it to welcome thoughts of what happened yesterday or is coming up tomorrow. Savasana is our opportunity for active relaxation -- allowing our bodies to absorb the work we have done, to let the solidity of the ever-present earth hold us up, to notice the areas of our body that may deserve extra love and attention. Allow yourself to completely relax in a mindful yet suspended way, held safely in your space. Close your eyes and take a few deep, calming, cleansing breaths before settling into your space of release and renewal.

You are safe. You are held. You are Love.


Most of the above portion of today’s post is from my book, The G6. I’m hosting a retreat this October on the urban farm in Boise that will focus on the ideas surrounding the 6 main themes (that all start with “G!”) that are ever-present when I’m feeling my best, performing at my highest, and behaving with the most authenticity.

Join me!

Leave a comment

Thank you for reading Balance & Whimsy. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

5 Comments
Balance & Whimsy
Joyful Affirmations with Emily Nielsen
Mindful moments of lighthearted meditations and affirmations to peacefully set the tone for your jubilant life. All in about 5 minutes!
New episodes every Monday {or so}.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Emily
Recent Episodes
  Emily
  Emily
  Emily
  Emily