Balance & Whimsy
Joyful Affirmations with Emily Nielsen
Dear Me
0:00
-5:27

Dear Me

A few words to our past and present selves

Do you ever wish you could go back in time and cup your little self gently around the cheeks, have her look into your wizened eyes?⁣⁣

Do you ever want to hug her, because only you know the type of embrace she needed but didn’t know how to ask for?⁣

​​I often see posts asking, “What 3 words would you tell your younger self?” ⁣⁣

My younger self would be *freaked out* to see older Me standing before her, and I know she’d not be keen to accept advice from some kind of know-it-all. ⁣⁣

She’s wary. ⁣⁣

She just wants to feel seen, understood, right where she’s at. ⁣⁣

I could tell her that longing has served her. She will one day be able to feel the shards and caresses of emotions from every corner of the room. ⁣⁣

I would tell her to honor that sensitivity, to trust that desire for comfort and good. ⁣⁣I would ask her to trust her heart, and not believe anyone who hints that her concerns are too far-fetched. ⁣⁣

I would tell her to go ahead and cry, and to continue to write it all down (but maybe to hide her words better; privacy is often precious for sowing lessons worth revisiting.)

⁣⁣I’d tell her that yeah, you do have gifts. Your silliness matters. It’s okay to be a goof. Being mortified has its place, and certainly doesn’t separate you from the pack (they’re just as awkward as you are.)

⁣⁣I’d understand her longing to rest, wholly assured in her place in a mad world. ⁣⁣

If I only had three words to give her?⁣⁣

You. Are. Enough.

A Joyful Affirmation for Meeting Your Best Self

I know the best version of myself. I can see her clearly and she is vibrant. In my heart, I know what it takes to be her. This thought brings lightness and laughter to my being.

Today, I choose to let my best self move through the world. I will not cower or diminish my fabulosity.

Today, I grant myself the opportunity to believe in all that I truly am.

I will walk with my best bones and feel with my bravest heart. My intentions will be set for the highest good that I am capable of providing.

Today, I will be a champion for my destiny. The world desires my very best existence. I will not disappoint.

I am fabulous. I am free. I love. I am loved.


Balance & Whimsy is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Balance & Whimsy
Joyful Affirmations with Emily Nielsen
Mindful moments of lighthearted meditations and affirmations to peacefully set the tone for your jubilant life. All in about 5 minutes!
New episodes every Monday {or so}.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Emily
Recent Episodes
  Emily
  Emily
  Emily
  Emily