Balance & Whimsy
Joyful Affirmations
Cultivate a Growth Mindset
0:00
-8:38

Cultivate a Growth Mindset

and talk nicely to yourself!

Humility and self-depreciation are two WAY different things.

When you accept that you really do, in fact, have a lot to offer - just by being who you are! - you are allowing yourself more room to grow, and to serve.

This week, I invite you to meet yourself exactly where you're at.

"Too many people overvalue what they are NOT, and undervalue what they ARE."

- Malcolm Forbes

When it comes to meeting your best self, it's important to shift from a Fixed Mindset to a Growth Mindset.

Developing your Growth Mindset is vital when it comes to creating your best life!

Fixed Mindset = Not willing to try something new; believing old stories you've told yourself; staying comfortable with what is familiar

Growth Mindset = Being willing to let go of those preconceived notions of yourself; embracing the unfamiliar; being willing to fail

As we work at getting out of our own way, denying our limiting beliefs, and allowing our best selves to step forward, cultivating that Growth Mindset is an important step.

One of the first things you can do to encourage your growth mindset is analyze whether you practice positive self-talk.

Try asking yourself these questions:

  • Would you talk to your best friend the way you talk to yourself?

  • Would you be friends with someone who talks to you the way you talk to yourself?

  • What if your internal thoughts were tattooed on your body? Would they change?

"The more you extend kindness to yourself, the more it will become your automatic response to others."

- Dr. Wayne Dyer

There is important work to be done in this life: Love yourself, "flaws" and all. You're so important and special.

Start to recognize the ways in which you talk to yourself, and be willing to change the negatives to their positive opposites.

Then, make a commitment -- what thoughts are you willing to change... for good?

Growth Mindset Cultivation:

  • Stop Needing Outside Approval

  • Focus on the Process vs. the Result

  • Get Excited by Challenges

  • Accept Your Weak Spots

  • Talk Positively to Yourself

  • Embrace the Experience

  • Let Go of the Idea of "Perfect"

  • Be Willing to Miss the Mark

A Joyful Affirmation for Appreciating Your Body ~ Right Where You’re At

My body is the only one I'm granted.

Today I choose to honor my body temple with nourishing foods, cleansing breaths, and peaceful moments.

I am given this one set of muscles, this one set of bones. I will coddle and care for the freedom of movement they grant me. I will be grateful for the skin I live in.

Today I recognize the beauty that is the human form, in everyone I meet. 

This is a precious life, and I will care for the vehicle that carries me through my days and nights.

I will not feel selfish in choosing healthy rest when my body requires it. 

I will not ignore my body when it longs to stretch or run or dance or balance or climb.

Today I choose nourishment. Today I feel healthy and strong.

Balance & Whimsy is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Balance & Whimsy
Joyful Affirmations
Mindful moments of lighthearted meditations and affirmations to peacefully set the tone for your jubilant life.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Emily
Recent Episodes
  Emily
  Emily
  Emily
  Emily