Balance & Whimsy
Joyful Affirmations
Haz Todo Con Amor
0:00
-5:06

Haz Todo Con Amor

... or at least know Love is your home base

“Haz todo con amor.” ⁣
Do everything with love. ⁣

This phrase is on an art piece that my husband and I acquired at Boise’s Art in the Park many years ago. It’s very “us,” in our home full of calaveras and Mexican folk art. ⁣


Sometimes well-intentioned platitudes can feel like condescending threats, am I right? ⁣

And I do respect the sentiment, so much. Which is why it also makes me feel guilty when I spout my disappointment in the fact that my daughter doesn’t make her bed after 86 reminders, or when I let PMS dictate my snappy retorts. Am I doing these things with love? Sure as heck doesn’t feel like it. ⁣

But then again, love doesn’t have to be pretty. If I didn’t love my daughter, I wouldn’t care how she respected her belongings. And when my hormones get to play Candyland with my brainwaves, it doesn’t mean there’s not love in there still, behind the scenes, working the gearshift of my heart and veering toward the path of gentleness. ⁣

We are so often bombarded with Shoulds - resolutions and revelations and intentions and promises of betterment. ⁣

I say, may presence prevail. May authenticity reign. May the goals and hopes and wishes and best good thoughts circulate….⁣

But if you just need to be for a bit,⁣
Without the pressure to ensure that everything is done in the *right way,*⁣
That’s ok. ⁣

It’s ok to just be, and to know that Love is your home base. ⁣


Share Balance & Whimsy

0 Comments
Balance & Whimsy
Joyful Affirmations
Mindful moments of lighthearted meditations and affirmations to peacefully set the tone for your jubilant life.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Emily
Recent Episodes
  Emily
  Emily
  Emily
  Emily